万本电子书0元读

万本电子书0元读

顶部广告

After电子书

售       价:¥

30人正在读 | 0人评论 9.8

作       者:Steven Brill

出  版  社:Simon & Schuster

出版时间:2003-04-07

字       数:143.2万

所属分类: 进口书 > 外文原版书 > 法律/政治/宗教

温馨提示:此类商品不支持退换货,不支持下载打印

为你推荐

  • 读书简介
  • 目录
  • 累计评论(0条)
  • 读书简介
  • 目录
  • 累计评论(0条)
The critics unanimously agree that brilliant, award-winning reporter and bestselling author Steven Brill has written a powerful and sweeping narrative of the country in the first year of the September 12 era. As "the pages flutter" -- marvels one critic -- "in a race to learn the rest of the story we thought we knew so well," Brill takes us from the White House Situation Room to the living rooms of victims' families, from courtrooms to boardrooms, from border crossings to airport tarmacs. We watch as a Customs inspector struggles to protect New York harbor from a dirty bomb; a storekeeper at Ground Zero rebuilds his shoe repair shop; a Silicon Valley entrepreneur lobbies to get his baggage screening systems into every airport; Homeland Security Director Tom Ridge battles the bureaucratic minefields of Washington; a New Jersey widow struggles to help her three children cope with the loss of their father; and John Ashcroft seizes the moment to become the most powerful and controversial attorney general in a generation, while the head of the ACLU tries to block him. The result is a gritty narrative -- and trailblazing journalism -- that inspires us all as it tells the real story of how Americans moved to defend and rebuild their lives and their country.
目录展开

Cover

Colophon

Also by Steven Brill

Title Page

Copyright

Dedication

The Main Characters

Prologue: September 11, 2001

Part One • Climbing Back

Wednesday, September 12, 2001

Thursday, September 13, 2001

Saturday, September 15, 2001

Monday, September 17, 2001

Wednesday, September 19, 2001

Friday, September 21, 2001

Saturday, September 22, 2001

Tuesday, September 25, 2001

Wednesday, September 26, 2001

Friday, September 28, 2001

Saturday, September 29, 2001

Monday, October 1, 2001

Tuesday, October 2, 2001

Wednesday, October 3, 2001

Friday, October 5, 2001

Monday, October 8, 2001

Tuesday, October 9, 2001

Thursday, October 11, 2001

Friday, October 12, 2001

Part Two • New Routines, New Systems

Monday, October 15, 2001

Tuesday, October 16, 2001

Thursday, October 18, 2001

Monday, October 22, 2001

Tuesday, October 23, 2001

Wednesday, October 24, 2001

Friday, October 26, 2001

Monday, October 29, 2001

Tuesday, October 30, 2001

Wednesday, October 31, 2001

Friday, November 2, 2001

Saturday, November 3, 2001

Sunday, November 4, 2001

Monday, November 5, 2001

Tuesday, November 6, 2001

Wednesday, November 7, 2001

Thursday, November 8, 2001

Friday, November 9, 2001

Saturday, November 10, 2001

Monday, November 12, 2001

Tuesday, November 13, 2001

Wednesday, November 14, 2001

Thursday, November 15, 2001

Friday, November 16, 2001

Saturday, November 17, 2001

Monday, November 19, 2001

Tuesday, November 20, 2001

Wednesday, November 21, 2001

Thursday, November 22, 2001

Friday, November 23, 2001

Monday, November 26, 2001

Wednesday, November 28, 2001

Thursday, November 29, 2001

Saturday, December 1, 2001

Sunday, December 2, 2001

Monday, December 3, 2001

Wednesday, December 5, 2001

Thursday, December 6, 2001

Friday, December 7, 2001

Sunday, December 9, 2001

Monday, December 10, 2001

Tuesday, December 11, 2001

Wednesday, December 12, 2001

Thursday, December 13, 2001

Friday, December 14, 2001

Tuesday, December 18, 2001

Thursday, December 20, 2001

Friday, December 21, 2001

Saturday, December 22, 2001

Tuesday, December 25, 2001

Monday, December 31, 2001

Part Three Short-Term Pain and Gain, Long-Term Plans

Wednesday, January 2, 2002

Friday, January 4, 2002

Saturday, January 5, 2002

Sunday, January 6, 2002

Tuesday, January 8, 2002

Monday, January 14, 2002

Tuesday, January 15, 2002

Wednesday, January 16, 2002

Thursday, January 17, 2002

Friday, January 18, 2002

Saturday, January 19, 2002

Monday, January 21, 2002

Wednesday, January 23, 2002

Thursday, January 24, 2002

Sunday, January 27, 2002

Monday, January 28, 2002

Thursday, January 31, 2002

Friday, February 1, 2002

Sunday, February 3, 2002

Monday, February 4, 2002

Tuesday, February 5, 2002

Wednesday, February 6, 2002

Thursday, February 7, 2002

Monday, February 11, 2002

Thursday, February 14, 2002

Sunday, February 17, 2002

Monday, February 18, 2002

Wednesday, February 20, 2002

Thursday, February 21, 2002

Saturday, February 23, 2002

Tuesday, February 26, 2002

Wednesday, February 27, 2002

Thursday, February 28, 2002

Saturday, March 2, 2002

Monday, March 4, 2002

Tuesday, March 5, 2002

Wednesday, March 6, 2002

Thursday, March 7, 2002

Monday, March 11, 2002

Tuesday, March 12, 2002

Friday, March 15, 2002

Sunday, March 17, 2002

Tuesday, March 19, 2002

Thursday, March 21, 2002

Tuesday, March 26, 2002

Friday, March 29, 2002

Sunday, March 31, 2002

Monday, April 1, 2002

Tuesday, April 2, 2002

Wednesday, April 3, 2002

Thursday, April 4, 2002

Friday, April 5, 2002

Sunday, April 7, 2002

Monday, April 8, 2002

Tuesday, April 9, 2002

Thursday, April 11, 2002

Friday, April 12, 2002

Sunday, April 14, 2002

Monday, April 15, 2002

Tuesday, April 16, 2002

Wednesday, April 17, 2002

Thursday, April 18, 2002

Friday, April 19, 2002

Monday, April 22, 2002

Tuesday, April 23, 2002

Wednesday, April 24, 2002

Friday, April 26, 2002

Saturday, April 27, 2002

Tuesday, April 30, 2002

Wednesday, May 1, 2002

Thursday, May 2, 2002

Friday, May 3, 2002

Tuesday, May 7, 2002

Wednesday, May 8, 2002

Sunday, May 12, 2002

Tuesday, May 14, 2002

Wednesday, May 15, 2002

Thursday, May 16, 2002

Friday, May 17, 2002

Monday, May 20, 2002

Tuesday, May 21, 2002

Wednesday, May 22, 2002

Thursday, May 23, 2002

Friday, May 24, 2002

Monday, May 27, 2002

Wednesday, May 29, 2002

Thursday, May 30, 2002

Friday, May 31, 2002

Saturday, June 1, 2002

Monday, June 3, 2002

Wednesday, June 5, 2002

Thursday, June 6, 2002

Friday, June 7, 2002

Monday, June 10, 2002

Part Four Coming to Terms with The New Era

Wednesday, June 12, 2002

Friday, June 14, 2002

Monday, June 17, 2002

Tuesday, June 18, 2002

Wednesday, June 19, 2002

Saturday, June 22, 2002

Sunday, June 23, 2002

Monday, June 24, 2002

Tuesday, June 25, 2002

Wednesday, June 26, 2002

Thursday, June 27, 2002

Friday, June 28, 2002

Saturday, June 29, 2002

Wednesday, July 3, 2002

Thursday, July 4, 2002

Friday, July 5, 2002

Monday, July 8, 2002

Tuesday, July 9, 2002

Wednesday, July 10, 2002

Friday, July 12, 2002

Monday, July 15, 2002

Tuesday, July 16, 2002

Wednesday, July 17, 2002

Thursday, July 18, 2002

Friday, July 19, 2002

Saturday, July 20, 2002

Wednesday, July 24, 2002

Thursday, July 25, 2002

Friday, July 26, 2002

Saturday, July 27, 2002

Wednesday, July 31, 2002

Thursday, August 1, 2002

Monday, August 5, 2002

Wednesday, August 7, 2002

Thursday, August 8, 2002

Friday, August 9, 2002

Sunday, August 11, 2002

Tuesday, August 13, 2002

Wednesday, August 14, 2002

Thursday, August 15, 2002

Friday, August 16, 2002

Monday, August 19, 2002

Tuesday, August 20, 2002

Saturday, August 24, 2002

Tuesday, August 27, 2002

Wednesday, August 28, 2002

Sunday, September 1, 2002

Monday, September 2, 2002

Tuesday, September 3, 2002

Wednesday, September 4, 2002

Thursday, September 5, 2002

Monday, September 9, 2002

Tuesday, September 10, 2002

Wednesday, September 11, 2002

Epilogue: January 2003

Acknowledgments

Sources

Source Notes

Index

About the Author

累计评论(0条) 0个书友正在讨论这本书 发表评论

发表评论

发表评论,分享你的想法吧!

买过这本书的人还买过

读了这本书的人还在读

回顶部