万本电子书0元读

万本电子书0元读

顶部广告

Soldier Girls电子书

售       价:¥

60人正在读 | 0人评论 9.8

作       者:Helen Thorpe

出  版  社:Scribner

出版时间:2014-08-05

字       数:73.7万

所属分类: 进口书 > 外文原版书 > 文学/自传/回忆录

温馨提示:此类商品不支持退换货,不支持下载打印

为你推荐

  • 读书简介
  • 目录
  • 累计评论(0条)
  • 读书简介
  • 目录
  • 累计评论(0条)
A raw, intimate look at the impact of combat and the healing power of friendship (People): the lives of three women deployed to Afghanistan and Iraq, and the effect of their military service on their personal lives and families named a best book of the year by Publishers Weekly. In the tradition of Adrian Nicole LeBlanc, Richard Rhodes, and other masters of literary journalism, Soldier Girls is utterly absorbing, gorgeously written, and unforgettable (The Boston Globe). Helen Thorpe follows the lives of three women over twelve years on their paths to the military, overseas to combat, and back home and then overseas again for two of them. These women, who are quite different in every way, become friends, and we watch their interaction and also what happens when they are separated. We see their families, their lovers, their spouses, their children. We see them work extremely hard, deal with the attentions of men on base and in war zones, and struggle to stay connected to their families back home. We see some of them drink too much, have affairs, and react to the deaths of fellow soldiers. And we see what happens to one of them when the truck she is driving hits an explosive in the road, blowing it up. She survives, but her life may never be the same again. Deeply reported, beautifully written, and powerfully moving, Soldier Girls is a breakthrough work...What Thorpe accomplishes in Soldier Girls is something far greater than describing the experience of women in the military. The book is a solid chunk of American history...Thorpe triumphs (The New York Times Book Review).
目录展开

Cover

Dedication

Epigraph

Author’s Note

I. Indiana, 2001–2003

1. Hooah!

2. Don’t Worry About Being a Female

3. Drill

4. Three Months of Hell

5. High Altitude

6. The Tiki Lounge

II. Afghanistan, 2004–2005

1. Off Safety

2. Codependent

3. Rain

4. Translation

5. Easter

6. Sea World

III. Indiana, 2005–2007

1. Welcome Home, Dad

2. Out of Uniform

3. Answered Prayers

IV. Iraq, 2008

1. Look, Fuckers

2. Hooker

3. Anger Management

V. Colorado and Indiana, 2009–2013

1. Huge Billy Clubs

2. Happy Bomb Day

3. Numb

Afterword

Acknowledgments

About Helen Thorpe

Copyright

累计评论(0条) 0个书友正在讨论这本书 发表评论

发表评论

发表评论,分享你的想法吧!

买过这本书的人还买过

读了这本书的人还在读

回顶部